NHL 2010/2011 NHL Awards Predictions

With the NHL season off and going, I will make my predictions on who I think will win the different awards that the NHL hands out this season.

Hart Memorial Trophy:

The Hart Memorial Trophy is awarded to the player who is judged to be the most valuable to his team. The winner of this award is decided by Professional Hockey Writers' Association in all of the NHL cities at the end of the season. Last years winner was Henrik Sedin who had 112 points. He had 29 goals and 83 assists and +35 rating. The previous year he had 82 points, so he went up in production by 30 points and played a huge role in the success the Canucks had last season. Winner: I think Alexander Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals will win this award. If we take a look last season's production, he had 109 points in only 72 games and finished the season 3 points behind Sedin. If he had played the other 10 games he would have definitely passed him and most likely would have won the Hart. I think Ovechkin will have another big season with 50 plus goals and will stay healthy.

Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy:

The Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy is awarded to the leading goal scorer in the National Hockey League at the end of the season. Last season there were two winners who shared the award in Sidney Crosby and Steven Stamkos, who both had 51 goals. Winner: This season, I think the winner will be Alexander Ovechkin, who had 50 goals last season while missing 10 games. I predict he will hit 55-60 goals this season. Stamkos and Crosby will also be up there in goals.

Vezina Trophy:

The Vezina Trophy is given to the goalkeeper who is judged to be the best at his position, It's also voted on by all the general managers in the NHL. Ryan Miller, the goaltender of the Buffalo Sabres won the Vezina Trophy last season. Miller posted amazing numbers last season with a 2.22 goals against average, .929% save percentage and had a record of 41 wins, 18 losses and 8 ties. Winner: I think Roberto Luongo will win his first Vezina Trophy award. Luongo has always put up amazing numbers but this season I think he will exceed it and win the Vezina. He doesn't have the pressure of being the captain anymore, so he can go back to focusing on playing goaltender. He also won a gold medal at the Olympics in Vancouver. The Canucks also made some solid additions on the defensive end in the offseason to help Luongo.

James Norris Memorial Trophy:

James Norris Memorial Trophy is given to the defenseman who demonstrates the best all around ability in that position throughout the season. Last season it was awarded to defenseman Duncan Keith of the Chicago Blackhawks. Keith is a first time winner of the award, last season he put up solid numbers with 69 points with 14 goals, 55 assists and +21 rating. Winner: I think Drew Doughty of the Los Angeles Kings will win his first Norris Trophy. In his second season in the NHL, Doughty made a drastic improvement in production and overall play. He went from 27 points and -17 rating in his rookie season to 59 points and a +20 rating. He is only 21 years old and is only going to keep getting better. I expect him to have an amazing year for the Kings.

Calder Memorial Trophy:

The Calder Memorial Trophy is awarded to the rookie who is most proficient in his first year of competition in the NHL. Last season Buffalo Sabres Tyler Myers defenseman won the award. He finished with 48 points, 11 goals, 37 assists and +13 rating. Winner: This season, I think its a two player race between Taylor Hall and Jordan Eberle of the Edmonton Oilers. Both of them are on the Oilers 2nd line and will be relied upon to produce on the offensive end for the Oilers. At the end of the day I think Taylor Hall will win the award but it will be a close race. Hall is a very gifted player and its only a matter of time before he becomes an all star in the NHL.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy:

The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy is awarded to the player who shows the best sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high playing ability. Last season, the winner was Martin St. Louis who had an amazing season and always is a class act on and off the ice. He had 94 points last season with 29 goals, 65 assists and -8 rating. Winner: This season, I think Pavel Datsyuk will win it. He won it from 2006 to 2009 until St. Louis won it last season. Datsyuk should win it again this season and have a great year for the Red Wings.

Frank J. Selke Trophy:

The Frank J. Selke Trophy is awarded to the player who best showcases defensive aspects of the game throughout the whole season. Last three seasons from 2008-2010 Pavel Datsyuk has won the award. Winner: I think this time around it's going to be someone new and a player that has been great defensively since coming into the league. Mike Richards is a great two way player and I think this will be his year where he will dethrone Datsyuk and win his first Selke Trophy.

Jack Adams Award:

The Jack Adams Award is awarded to the NHL coach who has contributed the most to his team's success. Last season, the winner was Dave Tippett who is the coach of the Phoneix Coyotes. He led the Coyotes to a record of 50 wins, 25 losses and 7 ties for a 107 point season. Winner: This season, I think the winner of this award will be Guy Boucher who is the new coach of the Tampa Bay Lighting. When Steve Yzerman came over as GM, he made some nice additions to this team and in addition added a solid coach in Guy Boucher.

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy:

The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is awarded to a player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. Last season the winner was Jose Theodore goaltender of the Washington Capitals. Winner: This season, I think Ilya Bryzgalov of the Phoenix Coyotes will win this award. He will have another solid season in net and will most likely be in Vezina contention but will lose out and win the Bill Masterton Trophy.

Ted Lindsay Award:

The Ted Lindsay Award is awarded to the most outstanding player in the NHL voted by his fellow members of the National Hockey League Players' Association. Last season the winner of this award was Washington Capitals winger Alexander Ovechkin. Winner: This season, I think Alexander Ovechkin will this win award for the fourth time in a row. This guy is very talented and missed 10 games last season. If he was healthy for the those games he would definitely would have had the most points in the league. He is a tough guy to play against and move.